It Starts When You’re Always Afraid…

Everybody look what’s goin’ down!

…and I am waiting

for a rebirth of wonder

and I am waiting for someone

to really discover America

and wail

and I am waiting

for the discovery

of a new symbolic western frontier

and I am waiting

for the American Eagle

to really spread its wings

and straighten up and fly right…

Lawrence Ferlinghetti, “I Am Waiting”

This entry was posted in Democratic National Convention, Politics, Republican National Convention and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Starts When You’re Always Afraid…

  1. Amen.

    I’m heartened by what I hear more and more young people saying: “We have to get involved – I’m standing up because I want to make America better!”

    There are millions of Americans just come of voting age – they will help decide this election and our future.

Leave a Reply

