A Sarah Saga – Thirteenth Week – Post-Op TPLO

Passing Sarah’s thirteenth post-op week, there’s really not much to report except continuing good news. Her passion for chasing the tennis ball returned about three? four? weeks ago. Although I am still reluctant to throw the ball as far as before the lameness struck (when she gave-up this particular passion), he bewilderment is, of course, why daddy won’t throw the ball to the end of the yard, instead of just several feet from where she waits, intently staring at the ball in my hand, waiting to run and pounce, to squeek the squeeker inside. (We usually play with the ball right after morning walkies, which, typically is prior to six a.m. The squeek of the ball sends paroxysms of yapping from the Corgis next door. And, certain that the human in the house really doesn’t appreciate the early wake-up call, this becomes only the first round of play. Later, usually after eight, a second round of play commences.)

I tried to get a shot of Sarah actually raising her front legs from the ground, placing all her weight on her back legs (it was her right rear leg upon which the surgery was conducted), but wasn’t able to get the shot. But, she does do it. She no longer favors the affected leg. Additionally, she no longer shows any discomfort when she moves in sideways motion. This sideways motion was her bane prior to the commencement of healing and certainly prior to the surgery. Anyone who has gone through the CCL experience will know what I’m talking about.

So, conclusions are now easy to come by. The TPLO surgery has given us back our Sarah. There is comfort in that. Even joy.

Additionally, we have seen no indication that Sarah’s left hind leg is suffering any lameness. The vet told us that is was “likely” she would eventually need the surgery on her other leg. Fingers crossed. Prayers given. But, as difficult as it was in the early weeks of this saga, I would, if needed, not hesitate with another TPLO procedure.

Finally, let me provide the following, that I’m sure most dog lovers have seen before. But, it seems to be appropriate to the moment; appropriate in providing the essential focus dog lovers embrace:

Just a dog Musings by Richard Biby, Contributing Editor Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

From time to time, people tell me, “lighten up, it’s “just a dog”, or, that’s a lot of money for just a dog. They don’t understand the distance traveled, the time spent, or the costs involved for “just a dog”. Some of my proudest moments have come about with “just a dog”. Many hours have passed and my only company was “just a dog”, but I did not once feel slighted. Some of my saddest moments have been brought about by “just a dog”, and in those days of darkness, the gentle touch of “just a dog” gave me comfort and reason to overcome the day. If you, too, think it’s just a dog”, then you will probably understand phases like “just a friend”, “just a sunrise”, or “just a promise”. “Just a dog” brings into my life the very essence of friendship, trust, and pure unbridled joy. “Just a dog” brings out the compassion and patience that make me a better person. Because of “just a dog” I will rise early, take long walks and look longingly to the future. So for me and folks like me, it’s not “just a dog” but an embodiment of all the hopes and dreams of the future, the fond memories of the past, and the pure joy of the moment. “Just a dog” brings out whats good in me and diverts my thoughts away from myself and the worries of the day. I hope that someday they can understand that it’s not “just a dog” but the thing that gives me humanity and keeps me from being “just a man.” So the next time you hear the phrase “just a dog” just smile, because they “just don’t understand”

This entry was posted in Sarah, TPLO and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Sarah Saga – Thirteenth Week – Post-Op TPLO

  1. Drunkbunny says:

    YAY Sarah! She’s such a gorgeous girl. Give her kisses for me.

    Oh, and the caption for the first picture is soooo “Throw the ball already!”

  2. georgeindenver says:

    Thanks, DB. Kisses for Moose.

  3. I love reading your blog George, it always touches me on some level. Thanks.

  4. georgeindenver says:

    Thanks, Doog.

Leave a Reply

