Maya Angelou – A wish for my father

maya_angelou1

A singular moment recalled with the passing of Maya Angelou, sees me accepting a copy of “I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings” from my father, who tells me as he hands me the book, “You should read this.”

 

 

Dad_1

My father was a career cop, serving as Denver’s police chief during those dark, and dangerous years from 1968 to 1972, a time when it seemed America was precariously close to the abyss and quite ready and willing to topple into it. He was a hard-as-nails bear of a man, a cop’s cop; considered by many folks of color to be their enemy. That he had read Maya Angelou before I had, that he had seen the worth of her wonderful words and wanted to share them with me, still impresses me with wonder and a lasting wish that I had known him better than I did.

That Maya Angelou had touched something in his heart, or his soul remains to this day not a mystery, but an incongruity that perhaps I will never understand.

I still have the copy he gave me. I often pull it from the shelf, and flip through it to the one and only sentence he underlined: “Bailey was the greatest person in my world.”

I do not know, and I will probably never know why he underlined that sentence.

Again, I wish I had known him better. I wish I could have asked him, “Dad, why did the caged bird sing?”

Godspeed Maya. If you run into the old man, please sit with him for a while. I believe he would enjoy that, and maybe he would share the part of his heart with you that he never shared with me…or anyone else.

This entry was posted in Denver Cops, Scribbles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maya Angelou – A wish for my father

Leave a Reply

