Dylan Thomas – “A Child’s Christmas in Wales”

One Christmas was so much like another, in those years around the sea-town corner now and out of all sound except the distant speaking of the voices I sometimes hear a moment before sleep, that I can never remember whether it snowed for six days and six nights when I was twelve or whether it snowed for twelve days and twelve nights when I was six.

All the Christmases roll down toward the two-tongued sea, like a cold and headlong moon bundling down the sky that was our street; and they stop at the rim of the ice-edged fish-freezing waves, and I plunge my hands in the snow and bring out whatever I can find. In goes my hand into that wool-white bell-tongued ball of holidays resting at the rim of the carol-singing sea, and out come Mrs. Prothero and the firemen.

It was on the afternoon of the Christmas Eve, and I was in Mrs. Prothero’s garden, waiting for cats, with her son Jim. It was snowing. It was always snowing at Christmas. December, in my memory, is white as Lapland, though there were no reindeers. But there were cats. Patient, cold and callous, our hands wrapped in socks, we waited to snowball the cats. Sleek and long as jaguars and horrible-whiskered, spitting and snarling, they would slink and sidle over the white back-garden walls, and the lynx-eyed hunters, Jim and I, fur-capped and moccasined trappers from Hudson Bay, off Mumbles Road, would hurl our deadly snowballs at the green of their eyes. The wise cats never appeared.

More wonderful words here

This entry was posted in Beauty. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dylan Thomas – “A Child’s Christmas in Wales”

  1. Is there something wrong with my browser, or did you change to some minimalist blog format?

  2. georgeindenver says:

    Hey, Jeffrey. Yes, with the new year change comes. Now I have to figure out the nuances of CSS…the new format will hopefully provide added functionality. Nothing wrong with your browser.

  3. georgeindenver says:

    Okay. Methinks before I adopt a “minimalist” theme –that, however, allows for extensive custom CSS edits–I should probably become a little more familiar with CSS coding. So, back to the ol’ look. For now.

  4. Suz at Large says:

    Darn. I missed the new look. I just *knew* that going back to work was going to mess with my fun.

    Nice quote, George.

    Happy new year!

  5. georgeindenver says:

    Hey, Suz

    I activated the “Sandbox” theme that–as noted by WordPress–begs for custom CSS. When first activated, the theme is extremely minimalist, as Jeffrey noted. Realizing my CSS skills are not that great, I decided to go back to the old theme, while intending to dig into CSS. So, you didn’t miss much.

    And, yes, the Dylan Thomas is wonderful. There is, on-line, a download of Thomas reading the story in about 1952.

Leave a Reply

