And, it is so… Good-bye old friend…

dsc00026.jpgConfirmation from the Corner’s Office that John Guldaman is gone. Rest in peace, John. Would that peace could have come otherwise; would that peace could have come here, amongst your friends, amongst the clutch of those who cared.

dsc00038.jpg

If It Be Your Will – Leonard Cohen
If it be your will
That I speak no more
And my voice be still
As it was before
I will speak no more
I shall abide until
I am spoken for
If it be your will
If it be your will
That a voice be true
From this broken hill
I will sing to you
From this broken hill
All your praises they shall ring
If it be your will
To let me sing
From this broken hill
All your praises they shall ring
If it be your will
To let me sing

If it be your will
If there is a choice
Let the rivers fill
Let the hills rejoice
Let your mercy spill
On all these burning hearts in hell
If it be your will
To make us well

And draw us near
And bind us tight
All your children here
In their rags of light
In our rags of light
All dressed to kill
And end this night
If it be your will

If it be your will.

If only you could have seen the beauty of the simple gifts of life, John. If only…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And, it is so… Good-bye old friend…

  1. Pingback: Train wreck « Suz at Large

  2. Suz at Large says:

    Thanks for posting those pictures. It’s good to remember what he looked like when he had his act together.

    Hmm, I wonder if Dean Martin recorded any Leonard Cohen songs?

    Nah. Can’t quite imagine it, and not sure I want to.

  3. georgeindenver says:

    Careful now, Suz… JG is surely watching all of this. Actually, I do believe Deano many have done a better job with the performance of Leonard Cohen songs than Leonard Cohen.

    But, that’s just me… (Um, that’s why I linked performances by other than Leonard Cohen.)

    : – ]

  4. Suz at Large says:

    Okay. Point taken. There is that difference. Dino could carry a tune. Smoothly.

  5. Mary says:

    I am so sorry to hear about John. He was a good person and friend. I only wish somebody could have helped him with the demons he dealt with. I know he is in a better place and at peace. I only hope there is Jeopardy on television in heaven. 🙂

  6. georgeindenver says:

    Thanks, Mary. John was one of the brightest young men I’ve known. He was a quirky giant with a complex wit that never failed to engender a pause as those of lesser minds took a moment to “get it.” He had such great potential which, sadly, he never really fulfilled. And, yes, his demons surely held him back. He was a certifiable character. I will miss him.

  7. grace valdez says:

    i thank everyone who responded to my brother becouse he was someone who will be m missed my his mother and his sister. it is so sad that i find out more of his demons after his death. i had wished that i knew about them so i could help. thank you mary i was wanting to tell you
    i have known john for 49 yrs and i am always looking at our child hood pictures and i do see that my brother had problems but we werent able to comunicate to each other.
    i loved my brothers so much but could not tell them and i so much wished i could i wil l when i see them in heaven.

    his only sister
    grace
    i have always known he loved me but couldnt say it to me.
    miss you john

Leave a Reply

