Our Little Fiesta on Our Little Street in West Highlands – More Than Neighbhors, More Like Friends

Yesterday we blocked off our little street in West Highlands and true to what our little street has become over the years, we celebrated the meaning of neighborliness which encompasses so much more than simply being neighbors. Living in West Highlands for the past twenty-two years, there is a curiosity–at least for me–why this neighborhood seems to effuse its character street by street, rather than by the whole of this Northwest Denver enclave. Some streets, like ours have few rental properties (only one that I know of), and there is, if not a prideful effort, certainly a committed responsibility to preserve the essential character of our little street: houses are cared for as gems from bygone eras (a somewhat eclectic mix, circa 1890s to 1930s, and one duplex circa 2005); yards are kept well, weeds pulled, lawns watered and cut, flowers lovingly nurtured, xeriscapeing abounds. Our little street is…yes, I’ll use that word again, eclectic. And, now that I’ve said this, there is one property that, oh, shall we say sits empty, occasionally visited by an absentee owner who… Well, I’ll just leave it at that.

Yes, curiously, if you walk just one or two blocks in any direction from our little street, the scene is much different. I have no problem suspecting the uncared for yards, the weeds, the neglect of those bygone era gems is the product of the scourge of a particular kind of renter (not all renters), many of whom–and I do not understand this at all–obviously take no pride or responsibility of neighborhood, or neighborliness. Or, perhaps the real culprit here are the owners of these properties who, once they’ve rented these homes, find neglect a more profitable endeavor than upkeep. I don’t know. As I said, I don’t understand it.

Enough of the rant.

Firstly, thank you Mary and Melissa for making this wonderful event happen. The city permits, the street closure, all the bureaucratic folderol, the notice and invitations to neighbors necessary to do something like this was an effort you took on with the unselfish intent of simply celebrating who and what our little street is: our home, our pride, our refuge…our little piece of heaven.

The pictures speak for themselves. Would that others make the effort to emulate this fulfilling, happy day that we had on our little street, in our little neighborhood in West Highlands.

All of the pictures are at my Flickr Site. Click here. (Click “Slideshow” in upper right hand corner, then click on the speed you’d like to view the slideshow in the lower left corner once the new screen appears.) Below are a few shots that you’ll also find at the Flickr Site.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Little Fiesta on Our Little Street in West Highlands – More Than Neighbhors, More Like Friends

  1. I try so hard to keep my yard up but I have no idea what I’m doing. I can’t even figure out how to turn on the sprinkler system!

    The next time I buy a place it will not have a yard that I have to take care of because of this. Still, I dream of living somewhere like your neighborhood, where the houses are old and the neighbors talk to each other.

    I suppose if I had the money to buy a place like that, I’d also have the money to pay a landscaping service. Maybe someday. Come on powerball! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Moose would have liked to meet that Great Dane and St. Bernard I bet. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. georgeindenver says:

    Actually, Sparky, the “…precious gems…” in this old neighborhood have manageable yards. Seems folks back in the day–circa 1890s to 1930s–were content with small yards, their houses set on small lots. That’s what frustrates me so about those who can’t or won’t manage what little they have. Sure, some of them could be aged and unable to care for their properties either because of physical issues or financial issues (hiring a yard service crew). But, then, that doesn’t explain away those who can, but won’t.

    Yes, indeed, I was thinking of Moose when I posted the picture of Tooner, the St. Bernard who lives across the street. He is the sweetest big guy on the block. The Great Dane, Patches, lives next door to us and she is a rescue dog, unfortunately, with some hip and leg issues. But, her mommy, Sue, along with her two Goldens, have provided Patches with a loving, caring home.

    Thanks so much for your comment.

    Hugs to Sparky.

  3. Mary Ann says:

    George,
    I finally was able to look at all the photos — they are great! Thanks again for being such great neighbors (friends!)!
    Mary

Leave a Reply

